Haircut for the Lavender

I suppose I waited too long to cut my lavender, as many of the flowers are already brown and dry, but it looked so nice out front I had to leave it just a little longer.  Plus, it still makes a nice arrangement, though I am leaving it outside to decorate the front step since it’d make too much of a mess inside.   I need to find a better spot to dry the lavender and so I can try this lavender lemonade recipe: http://www.lavenderfarm.com/recipes/lemonade.htm   I have about 3 times as much this year as I did last year, and now that I plan to add another lavender to the yard, I hope to someday be able to make some of those bath related products with it.

The pink flowers in the honey jar are from the princess bushes, which I need to call the nursery about how to best prune them, since they are getting big!  I have been deadheading them, not very thoroughly, and they still seem very happy in our very poor, clay-y soil.  Ahh, I love fresh cut flowers from my own garden!!

One response

  1. Which flowers are the safest? The answer is twofold. First, no flower is safe to eat or use on or near food products unless it has been organically grown. This means no chemical herbicides or pesticides have been used on or around the plant. Rose fertilizers that contain systemic toxins are included in this category, as are any fertilizers of the weed-and-feed variety. “This also means that edible flowers that are brought home from nurseries and garden centers are not safe to eat or use on or near food products unless they have been grown organically or sustainably. *

    Up to date posting on our own website
    <,http://www.prettygoddess.com

Leave a Reply

